October 29, 2008

Welcome! Olive U. Very Much

Posted in Uncategorized at 5:17 pm by Debra

When my oldest daughter went off to college, I told her, “I will write you everyday, so you won’t miss your family too much.”  I began sending her emails, and always signed them “Olive U.”  It’s how I have signed all my emails to each of my children through the years.  

My emails were generally about what was happening with the family, but a lot of the time, they contained little tidbits of wisdom that I wanted to pass on to them.  Because,amazingly, once they turned 18, they really didn’t want to hear any more wisdom from their parents.   They (thought) were so wise.  But if I emailed my thoughts to them, they did not object.  Score!  Because, yes, they did still have a lot to learn, and I felt I still had a lot to teach them.

They have all encouraged me to start this blog, where I can share my little tidbits with the rest of the world.  Naturally, I was hesitant at first, but decided that if they felt that this would be good for me, then I would trust their judgment and try my hand at it.

I don’t plan on posting a lot about my daily life, but instead include lessons I’ve learned and continue to learn as life teaches me.  I’m passionate about my devotion to my family, out of the box thinking, personal individuality, respect for others, motherhood, natural health care, and women’s rights issues.  I love to help others improve their self esteem by teaching them how to  create a more positive self image – both inside and out, and through personal goal setting.  

I’ve been a skin care consultant for 20+ years, and love helping people look better, so they can feel better about themselves and build their self confidence.  I’m somewhat of an expert on time management, having been married for 36 years and raised 4 children while running a business out of my home, and being an active member in our church.

So, basically, when I have something to say, I’m not afraid to say it.  I look forward to my new blogging adventure and getting to know all of my new friends in blogdom.

Olive U.

9 Comments »

  1. Johnny said,

    Welcome to the Blogoshere! Can’t wait to read more!

  2. I am so glad you started this! I’d love to hear perspective from someone my parents’ age who is not my parent, hee hee. Looking forward to more posts!
    Jen

  3. Welcome OliveU!!
    I can’t wait to read more about you.

    ~CE

  4. I love it.

    You are such a wonderful person inside & out- I know this will become more than just a blog for you!

    Stephanie

  5. Yay! So happy to finally have the public see how much you rawk.

  6. Harry said,

    Woohoo! Cant wait to see what you have in store for us!

    Olive U.

    Harry

  7. Welcome!! I might need to take some skin care consulting from you! It runs in my family:(

    I think you’re gonna LOVE this blogging stuff:)

  8. Welcome to this wonderful world! So happy to see you here… I can’t wait to learn from you!!

    ~Christine

  9. Carrington said,

    Yay! I’m so happy you caved under all the pressure! 🙂 Just kiddin… We are STILL always learning from you, and this is just another outlet for that, I’m so excited for you!

    P.S. However this means you have to come out of your “anonymous” blog reading habits and make some comments on our blogs! It’s the rules, I’m just sayin’


Leave a Reply

