October 30, 2008

Back Home Again, in Indiana

Posted in Uncategorized at 10:30 pm by Debra

 

    “Back home again in Indiana,

    And it seems that I can see

    The gleaming candlelight, still shining bright,

    Through the sycamores for me”

My husband and I decided it was time we brought our children and grandchildren to visit our old alma mater, Indiana University, in beautiful southern Indiana.  It was hard to believe it has been 30+ years since we last visited.  We knew October would be the best time of year to see the fall foliage, so we planned a fun weekend and rented a cabin in the woods in picturesque Brown County.

We ate strombolis from our favorite restaurant, and took everyone on a walking tour through the sycamores and bikepaths of old I.U.  Our last stop was a visit to my sorority house, Kappa Delta.  Walking through the doors of that big house, I enjoyed all the happy memories as they flooded over me.  The best part, was getting a chance to show my grown daughters where I lived for three years while I was dating their dad.  They were absolutely mesmerized by it all.

The college years were truly the carefree years of our lives, even though we didn’t realize it at the time. In later years, looking back, we longed for the total lack of responsibility we had back then.  Even so, college was also a time of total self-absorption.  What was happening in our own lives was all we really thought about.   After graduation, our marriage began, and our family grew, and we learned how to think of others more than ourselves, and to put others needs before our own.  

Helping others is so much more rewarding and fulfilling.  It’s when we lose our self-focus, that we become the real person we were intended to be.  It’s how we develop character and purpose, and our growth is never ending.  

Unfortunately, however, sometimes we lose ourselves in the process.  Not cool.  Our family certainly doesn’t want a mom/wife to feel sorry for.  They want someone who will take good care of themselves, find joy in life, and then model that to their offspring. To find real meaning in life, we can never stop growing, never stop learning.  Never.

If you haven’t visited your college campus in awhile, you need to, and take your family with you.  Celebrate the happy memories, and celebrate how far you’ve come.  

(If you would like to hear the classic 1917 song sung beautifully by the men’s acapella group at I.U., you can go here.)

“When I dream about the moonlight on the Wabash,

    Then I long for my Indiana home.”

Olive U.

3 Comments »

  1. Carrington said,

    It was such a treat going back. I’m jealous of those years that you got to share in love, in that beautiful place. I look forward to going back there MANY more times because I feel SO rested now.

  2. Johnny said,

    Can’t wait to go with you next time!

  3. Sounds like you had a fabulous trip. I bet it brought back so many wonderful memories.

    I think you are so right about how you can lose your self in the process of being mom, wife, friend, and every other title we can fill. I know I can lose my self when I am trying to be something for everyone else.

    You always give the best advice and I am so excited about you having your own blog! I miss talking to you and getting your wisdom so often. Reading your words will be like sitting in your living room on our computers, watching So You Think You Can Dance and chatting all evening.

    *hug*


Leave a Reply

