December 30, 2008

Turn, Turn, Turn

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , at 3:24 am by Debra

Remember it?  It’s a  pretty famous song, with some very famous lyrics:

To everything
Turn, turn, turn
There is a season
Turn, turn, turn
And a time for every purpose under Heaven

Living now in the midwest, my husband and I have a renewed appreciation for the seasons.  We moved here in the spring, then watched the freshness of spring fade into the fun of a nice, warm summer.  Then, before we knew it, summer transformed into the amazing beauty of fall colors everywhere.  Which brings us to now, we are in the throws of winter.  Spring, then summer, then fall, then winter. Like clockwork.

Turn, turn, turn.

When so many things in life nowadays seem totally disrupted and upside down, and seemingly out of control, one thing is for certain.  As surely as night turns into day, one season will turn into another.  The beauty of fall will always be overcome by the harshness of winter.  But, just as surely,  we know that winter will soon fade, and it will be spring again.

It made me think of the many difficulties our country is going through right now.  So many families are struggling financially, ours included.  Foreclosures, bank failures, and bailouts are the order of the day. People out of work, or worried about losing their jobs. Our financial security is no longer. No doubt about it, this is one extremely bad winter.

American history has taught us, though, this is but a season.  Even though we are all experiencing a really bad winter, we must live each day knowing that this season will eventually give way to a new season – spring! We will have some relief, and many of our challenges will, at some point, relent.  After all, we never know exactly when winter will cease, we just know that it will.

Turn, turn, turn.

No family is immune to the effects of a down economy, not even our own.  So, I’ve told our family,  let’s do our best to help one another, tighten our belts, and look forward to those first signs of spring –  things like new opportunities, new people in our lives, and new challenges to meet. We’re not going to just “get through” this bad boy of a winter, we’re going to use this time to grow wiser, become better people, and lean even closer on one another.

And, maybe after such a tough winter, we’ll come into the new seasons with a little more wisdom, a little less wastefulness, and a much more intense love for one another like never before, having bonded through a crisis together.  It’s a choice, and I’m chosing to make this season and all the rest of the seasons to come, my best ever.

A time to be born, a time to die
A time to plant, a time to reap
A time to kill, a time to heal
A time to laugh, a time to weep

A time of love, a time of hate
A time of war, a time of peace
A time you may embrace
A time to refrain from embracings

A time to gain, a time to lose
A time to rend, a time to sew
A time for love, a time for hate
A time for peace, I swear it’s not too late

Olive U.

5 Comments »

  1. Just as the seasons can sometimes be unpredictably harsh, they can also be surprisingly amazing. This is what we can cling to in the long, cold, winter. That the next season will be absolutely incredible.

  2. I loved this Olive U!

    Makes me think that I need to turn my seasons into the best ones I have seen as well.

    now I will be singing this all day long…

  3. Thank you for visiting my blog. It was meant to be, cause this is my favorite song and verse in the bible. I needed this today! I love the snow falling as I type too. I will have to play catch up and read all about you…Have a Wonderfu New Year!

  4. I’ve always loved this song- because of my Mom! And you are right. New seasons coming, better seasons coming.

    Steph

  5. I just realized who you are! Steph sent me an email and asked me if I knew who Olive U was. I added you to my blog roll. I miss you…my BFF….


Leave a Reply

